COMP 150BD - Fall 2014 - Schedule

Thursday, 25 September: Remco Chang, Visual Analytics

Tuesday, 30 September: Rachel Hogue, Big Data in Education

Thursday, 2 October: Maxim Kachalov, Bioinformatics

Tuesday, 7 October: Don McGarry, MITRE, Big Data in Emergency Management (cancelled)

Thursday, 9 October: Alva Couch, Big Data and Cloud Computing

Thursday, 23 October: Noah Daniels, MIT, Compressive Acceleration for Approximate Search

Tuesday, 28 October: Jake Crawford, Real-Time Processing for Big Data
    Shirish Pokharel, Text-Based Clustering

Thursday, 30 October: Elizabeth DeYoung, NoSQL Databases
    Xian Feng, Personalized Medicine

Tuesday, 4 November: Yuqi Xian, Performance Metrics for Supervised Learning
    Sabina Campero, Netflix and Big Data

Thursday, 6 November: Hamid Mansoor, Big Data in Healthcare
    Matthew Hepburn, Testing Big Data Applications

Thursday, 13 November: Jianying Li, Data Pre-processing

Tuesday, 18 November: Jacob Schmitz, Running WordCount in a Hadoop Environment
    Angela Lou, Genetic Algorithms as a Search Heuristic for Big Data

Thursday, 20 November: Shahab Yunus, The Lambda Architecture
    Susanne Kharraz-Post, Dealing with Dirty Data

Tuesday, 25 November: Hao Cui, Big Data and Robots
    Amadou Crookes, MapReduce Pros and Cons

Tuesday, 2 December: Hui Wang, Recommendation Systems
    Macgill Davis, Big Data and Dating Web Sites

Thursday, 4 December: Walter Rweyemamu & Alain Boulet-Gercourt, Big Data Revolutionising Science